He decided on 4 separate systems. Two were to be Friction brakes, sets of steel blocks that are pressed down on to the crown of the rail by hydraulic pistons. The remaining two systems , which would constitute the main system, were to be hydraulic callipers , which clamped across the crown of the rails. This system was eventually patented in the names of Newnes, Jones and Marks in 1888. the Hydraulic system was to be filled with water and not oil, which was later to become unique to this lift.
The first part of the esplanade, running 165 yards westwards from the Rhenish Tower, opened in September 1887. In the same month, Thomas Hewitt invited his friend George Newnes, the wealthy publisher if Tit Bits, to be his guest at the Hoe. It seemed quite possible that, by this time, Hewitt had realised that the construction of the cliff railway would require more capital than he and Heywood had available and that he hoped to persuade Newnes to put the money into the project. What is certain, is that within 24 hours of arriving at the Hoe ,Newnes had agreed to put up most of the money for a cliff railway