Watersmeet is the meeting place of the East Lyn and the Hoar Oak water and offers a dramatic river gorge and ancient woodlands and river boulders smothered with lichens a signature of many of Exmoors combes and woodlands. It makes for a stunning 2 mile walk from Lynmouth and has been visited by tourists and great poets since the 19th century. Southey, along with Coleridge, Wordsworth and Shelley were enchanted by Lynmouth and its hinterland, comparing Watersmeet with the Alps. Its moniker as “Little Switzerland” is valid, with its deep sunken valleys rising precipitously upwards for 300 metres or 900 feet.
Watersmeet House was built originally as a fishing lodge and romantic retreat, with connections to the romantic poets, it has been a tea room since 1901 and is now owned by the National Trust. Other points of interest include evidence of earlier history including the The Lynrock mineral water factory which opened on the East Lyn in 1911 before it was destroyed in the 1952 floor disaster. A small bottle of ginger beer set into the rock face still marks the original site.